I love the fall. Sweet potatoes are one of my favorite vegetables to be in abundant supply this time of year. Chickens are also on sale this week and I remember a recipe from Jacques Pepin called “Chicken legs with wine and yams”. I did not see any yams at the store and I had a whole chicken instead of just the legs. So, I did what all cooks should do. I made some modifications. Recipes are only guidlines begging to be altered.  This is what ended up happening. I cut up two small chickens and skinned them. Being a big fan of rustic hearty dishes I added turnips, cabbage and used sweet potatoes.  I put salt and pepper on chicken and began to sear it on all sides, cooking 7 to 10 minutes uncovered.  Add onions for 2 minutes. Add garlic cloves and shallots for one more minute. Finally, add the sweet potatoes, turnips, cabbage and one and a half cups of white wine. Bring to a boil and simmer covered for 35 minutes depending on the softness of the vegetables. Halfway through I pulled the chicken from the bottom and placed it on top of the vegetables. Sprinkle with fresh parsley and eat.

